The Falcons History

Rugby league has a strong and proud history on the Sunshine Coast. North Coast Rugby League was established in 1920, following adoption of the ‘new game’ by the former North Coast Rugby Union. Ten clubs played during the new competition’s inaugural season, namely Woombye, Buderim, Nambour, Cooran, Eumundi, Palmwoods, Yandina, Cooroy, Pomona and Mooloolah.

 In 1969 the regional league changed its name to Sunshine Coast Rugby League and the organisation became legally registered as a Public Company Limited by Guarantee in 1977. Since its inception, the competition has con­tinually gathered momentum and additional clubs from throughout the Sunshine Coast and Moreton Bay regions have joined the association. In 1994, Gympie Cooloola Rugby League Football Club joined the competition and the league became known as Sunshine Coast / Gympie Rugby Football League.

Sunshine Coast / Gympie Rugby Football League (SCGRL) works with governing bodies and its affiliated junior and senior clubs to provide extensive opportunities for people of all ages, gender  and abilities to participate in structured rugby league activities. The association assists all clubs to foster healthy and active participation in sport in a safe and social environment and supports clubs with continually improving their service delivery.

 SCGRL manages fixtures for senior clubs participating in its A Grade, Reserve Grade, Women's, C Grade and Under 18 com­petitions and works with its junior league branch to manage junior competition fixtures. The association fosters the development of junior and senior players, as well as referees, coaches, officials and other support personnel through established pathways, assisting all involved in the game locally to reach their full potential.